1

DON'T PAY TO BE PUBLISHED!

1

A LONG LIST OF REPUTABLE PUBLISHERS THAT ACCEPT SUBMISSIONS WITHOUT REQUIRING A LITERARY AGENT OR ANY COSTS FROM YOU--THEY ALSO PAY ROYALTIES

ALSO

A LONG LIST OF PUBLISHERS TO AVOID

(updated July 8, 2024)

Please be aware of the Writers Beware list of disreputable publishers HERE

The Horror Zine includes our own list of disreputable publishers at the bottom of this page.

The first list below is our list of reputable publishers and more small press publishing houses will be added as we are made aware of them. If you are a publisher, or have a publisher that you are happy with, please contact us HERE to be added to the list.

If you have a negative experience with any publisher listed below, or any publisher in general, please contact us HERE

 

LIST OF REPUTABLE SMALL PRESS PUBLISHERS

4Horsemen (series and multi-book authors) https://4horsemenpublications.com/
Acre Books https://acre-books.com/
Aethon Books https://aethonbooks.com/
Agora Books https://www.agorabooks.co/
Babylon Books (prefers book series) https://babylonbooks.net/
Bad Dream Entertainment http://www.baddreamentertainment.com/
Baen Books (sci-fi and fantasy) https://www.baen.com/
Black Bed Sheets https://blackbedsheetbooks.com/
Brigids Gate Press https://brigidsgatepress.com/

By Light Unseen (vampire fiction) http://bylightunseenmedia.com/
The Book Folks (ebooks; crime, thrillers and mystery) https://thebookfolks.com/
Chaosium Fiction (Cthulhu Mythos) https://www.chaosium.com/fiction-submissions/
Cemetery Gates https://cemeterygatesmedia.com/
Clash Publishing  https://www.clashbooks.com/
Coffee House Press https://coffeehousepress.org/
Creature Publishing (feminist) https://creaturehorror.com/about
Crystal Lake Publishing https://www.crystallakepub.com/
Dark Ink https://aminkpublishing.com/
Dark Moon Books http://www.darkmoonbooks.com/
Flame Tree Press https://www.flametreepress.com/
Ghoulish Books (previously Perpetual Motion) https://perpetualpublishing.com/submissions/
Grinning Skull Press https://grinningskullpress.wordpress.com/
Haunt Publishing (queer horror) https://www.hauntpublishing.com/
HellBound Books https://www.hellboundbookspublishing.com/
Hydra Publications https://hydrapublications.com/
Jo Fletcher Books https://www.jofletcherbooks.com/

Journey Press (sci-fi) https://journeypress.com/
Journalstone https://journalstone.com/
Last Waltz Publishing https://www.lastwaltzpublishing.com/
Luna Publishing (based in Scotland) https://www.lunapresspublishing.com/
Madness Heart Press (Splatterpunk and Bizarro) https://madnessheart.press/
Manta Press https://www.mantapress.com/
Meerkat Press https://meerkatpress.com/

Nefarious Bat Press https://www.nefariousbatpress.com/blog
Penmore Press https://www.penmorepress.com/
Raw Dog Screaming Press https://rawdogscreaming.com/
Scantic Books http://scanticbooks.blogspot.com/
Schaffner Press (crime fiction) http://www.schaffnerpress.com/submissions
The Seventh Terrace https://the-seventh-terrace.com/

Severed Press http://www.severedpress.com/
Telos Publishing https://telos.co.uk/
Timber Ghost Press  https://www.timberghostpress.com/
Totally Entwined (erotic) https://totallyentwinedgroup.com/
Undertaker Books https://www.undertakerbooks.com/

Undertow Publications https://undertowpublications.com/
Unnamed Press https://www.unnamedpress.com/
Watertower Hill Publishing https://www.watertowerhill.com/

Weirdpunk (wants the weird and unusual) https://www.weirdpunkbooks.com/about
Wicked House Publishing https://www.wickedhousepub.com/
Wolfsinger Publications (no children’s or erotica) https://www.wolfsingerpubs.com/

 

WARNING! PUBLISHERS TO AVOID

Archebooks Publishing (See Writer Beware HERE)
Archway Publishing (Details HERE)
Atlantic Publishing Group (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Atmosphere Publishing (See Writer Beware HERE)
Austin Macauley Publishers (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Author Solutions aka Author House Books (Details HERE)
Balboa Press (Teamed up with Author Solutions aka Author House Books)
Belle Isle Publishing aka Brandylane Publishing (Not transparent about high costs)
Black Rose Writing (Overpricing author’s books, and see Writer Beware HERE)
Breaking Rules Publishing (See Writer Beware HERE)

Capstone Media Services (See Writer Beware HERE)
Chipmunka Publishing (Details HERE)
Covenant Publishing (Wants an up-front fee)

Dark Moon Rising (Partnering with Christopher Pelton, formally of PsychoToxin Press)
Dorrance Publishing (Vanity Press with numerous complaints)
Dream Books Distribution (Screenplays; demands a large fee to "register")
Eliezer Tristan Publishing (Not transparent about costs and has numerous complaints)
Endless Sky Books (See their rates HERE)
Europe Books aka Europa (See Writer Beware HERE)
Folio Avenue (Says they are from California but are really from the Philippines)
Gold Touch Press (Vanity Press from the Philippines)
Gruppo Albatros Il Filo (See Writer Beware HERE)
iUniverse (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Lethe Press (See Writer Beware HERE)
Month 9 Books (See Writer Beware HERE)
Oak Tree Press (See Writer Beware HERE)
Olympia Publishers (Wants an up-front fee)
Outskirts Press (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Page Turner Press and Media (See Victoria Strauss’ post HERE)
Parchment Global Publishing (Wants you to pay for things you could get elsewhere for free)
Pegasus Elliot Mackenzie aka Pegasus Publications (Hybrid; shared upfront costs. Not Pegasus Books)
Pen Culture Solutions (Not transparent about costs and has numerous complaints)
Powder River Publishing (Not transparent about costs)
Prodigy Gold Books (Wants an up-front fee)
Renaissance Publishing House (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Riverdale Avenue Books (See Writer Beware HERE)

Rushmore Press (see Victoria Strauss article HERE)
Seventh Star Press (See Writer Beware HERE)
Silent Spark Press (Wants a monthly fee)
Tate Publishing (Vanity Press that wants your money)
TBM aka Troy Book Makers (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Terror Tract (Non-payment of royalties)
Texas Sisters Press (See how much money they want from you HERE)
Thurston Howl Productions (Non payment of royalties)
Trafford Publishing (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Trilogy Publication (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Union Square (See Writer Beware HERE)
Vantage Press (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Vertigo Publishing House (See Writer Beware HERE)

Wild Rose Press (Wants you to do your own marketing; see HERE)
Xlibris (Vanity Press that wants your money)