1
HOME  ABOUT  FICTION  POETRY  ART  SUBMIT  NEWS  ZINES  CONTACT  HOW  BEST  BOOKS  STAFF

PUBLISHERS

1

A LONG LIST OF REPUTABLE PUBLISHERS THAT ACCEPT SUBMISSIONS WITHOUT REQUIRING A LITERARY AGENT

ALSO

A LONG LIST OF PUBLISHERS TO AVOID

(updated July 27, 2022)

Please be aware of the Writers Beware list of disreputable publishers HERE

The Horror Zine includes our own list of disreputable publishers at the bottom of this page.

The first list below is our list of reputable publishers and more small press publishing houses will be added as we are made aware of them. If you are a publisher, or have a publisher that you are happy with, please contact us HERE to be added to the list.

If you have a negative experience with any publisher listed below, please contact us HERE

 

LIST OF REPUTABLE SMALL PRESS PUBLISHERS

4Horsemen (series and multi-book authorshttps://4horsemenpublications.com/
Acre Books https://acre-books.com/
Aethon Books https://aethonbooks.com/
Agora Books https://www.agorabooks.co/
Babylon Books (prefers book series) https://babylonbooks.net/
Bad Dream Entertainment http://www.baddreamentertainment.com/
Baen Books (sci-fi and fantasy) https://www.baen.com/
Black Bed Sheets https://blackbedsheetbooks.com/
Black Hare Press (Australia based, but world-wide) https://www.blackharepress.com/
By Light Unseen (vampire fiction) http://bylightunseenmedia.com/
The Book Folks (ebooks; crime, thrillers and mystery) https://thebookfolks.com/
Chaosium Fiction (Cthulhu Mythos) https://www.chaosium.com/fiction-submissions/
Cemetery Gates https://cemeterygatesmedia.com/
Coffee House Press https://coffeehousepress.org/
Creature Publishing (feminist) https://creaturehorror.com/about
Crystal Lake Publishing https://www.crystallakepub.com/
Dark Hall Press https://darkhallpress.com/
Dark Ink https://aminkpublishing.com/
Dark Moon Books http://www.darkmoonbooks.com/
Dark Moon Rising (also publishes poetry) https://www.darkmoonrisingpublications.com/about.html
Death’s Head Press https://deathsheadpress.com/
Eibonvale Press https://www.eibonvalepress.co.uk/infoforwriters.htm
Flame Tree Press https://www.flametreepress.com/
Grinning Skull Press https://grinningskullpress.wordpress.com/
Haunt Publishing https://www.hauntpublishing.com/
HellBound Books https://www.hellboundbookspublishing.com/
Hybrid Sequence Media https://hybridsequencemedia.com/
Hydra Publications https://hydrapublications.com/
Journey Press (sci-fi) https://journeypress.com/
Journalstone https://journalstone.com/
Last Waltz Publishing https://www.lastwaltzpublishing.com/
Lethe Press (LGBTQ) https://www.lethepressbooks.com/#/
Luna Publishing (based in Scotland) https://www.lunapresspublishing.com/
Necro Press (also Bedlam Books) https://necropublications.com/
Penmore Press https://www.penmorepress.com/
Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing https://perpetualpublishing.com/submissions/
Raw Dog Screaming Press https://rawdogscreaming.com/
Scantic Books http://scanticbooks.blogspot.com/
Schaffner Press (crime fiction) http://www.schaffnerpress.com/submissions
The Seventh Terrace https://the-seventh-terrace.com/
Severed Press http://www.severedpress.com/
Undertow Publications https://undertowpublications.com/
Unnamed Press https://www.unnamedpress.com/
Totally Entwined (erotic) https://totallyentwinedgroup.com/
Weirdpunk (wants the weird and unusual) https://www.weirdpunkbooks.com/about

WARNING! PUBLISHERS TO AVOID

Archebooks Publishing (See Writer Beware HERE)
Archway Publishing (Details HERE)
Atlantic Publishing Group (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Austin Macauley Publishers (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Author Solutions aka Author House Books (Details HERE)
Balboa Press (Teamed up with Author Solutions aka Author House Books)
Belle Isle Publishing aka Brandylane Publishing (Not transparent about high costs)
Black Rose Writing (Overpricing author’s books, see Writer Beware HERE)
Capstone Media Services (See Writer Beware HERE)
Chipmunka Publishing (Details HERE)
Covenant Publishing (Wants an up-front fee)
Dorrance Publishing (Vanity Press with numerous complaints)
Dream Books Distribution (Screenplays; demands a large fee to "register")
Eliezer Tristan Publishing (Not transparent about costs and has numerous complaints)
Europe Books aka Europa (See Writer Beware HERE)
Folio Avenue (Says they are from California but are really from the Philippines)
Gold Touch Press (Vanity Press from the Philippines)
Gruppo Albatros Il Filo (See Writer Beware HERE)
iUniverse (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Month 9 Books (See Writer Beware HERE)
Oak Tree Press (See Writer Beware HERE)
Outskirts Press (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Page Turner Press and Media (See Victoria Strauss’ post HERE)
Parchment Global Publishing (Wants you to pay for things you could get elsewhere for free)
Pen Culture Solutions (Not transparent about costs and has numerous complaints)
Prodigy Gold Books (Wants an up-front fee)
Renaissance Publishing House (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Silent Spark Press (Wants a monthly fee)
Tate Publishing (Vanity Press that wants your money)
TBM aka Troy Book Makers (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Terror Tract (Non-payment of royalties)
Trafford Publishing (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Trilogy Publication (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Vantage Press (Vanity Press that wants your money)
Vertigo Publishing House (See Writer Beware HERE)
Xlibris (Vanity Press that wants your money)